Tour of Spain – Molano the 21st stage, Remco Evenepoel offers La Vuelta!

Tour d

The 21st and final stage Tour of Spain gave birth to a little surprise since the victory went to Juan Sebastian Molano (UAE Team Emirates). Supposed to throw his teammate Pascal Ackermanthe Colombian – who did not keep his line during the sprint and could have been downgraded – was never overtaken in the end, winning ahead of Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) and Ackerman. This last day of racing also allowed Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team) to savor his final success, the Belgian thus offering himself the first Grand Tour of his career at only 22 years old.

Video – Juan Sebastian Molano the last, Remco Evenepoel crowned

Evenepoel, Mas and Ayuso on the La Vuelta podium, Thibaut Pinot 17th… and first Frenchman

He is accompanied on the podium by the Spaniards Enric Mas (Movistar Team), second of The Vuelta for the third time in his career (2018, 2021 and 2022), and Juan Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates), the youngest rider to finish on the podium of a Grand Tour since 1904 and the victory ofHenry Cornet on the Tour de France. The top 5 is completed by Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana Qazaqstan Team) and Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates). First French in the general classification, Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) takes a distant 17th place. Richard Carapaz (INEOS Grenadiers), Mads Pedersen and Remco Evenepoel win the mountain, points and youth classifications respectively, while the team classification goes to UAE Team Emirates.

Valverde says goodbye to La Vuelta, Plapp and Johansen’s number, Molano surprises

After the traditional parade and the souvenir photos, a highlight occurs when entering the final circuit since Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team), who played the last Tour of Spain of his immense career, breaks out of the peloton to take a lap of honor in the streets of Madrid. Once the beautiful tribute to the former world champion is over, the real race can begin. The first significant breakaway of this 21st and final stage – and which will turn out to be the only one – is made up of the Australian Luke Plapp (INEOS Grenadiers) and the Dane Julius Johansen (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Materials). These two rolling machines carry out a beautiful raid in the streets of the Spanish capital and force the teams of sprinters to work. Oscillating between 20 and 30 seconds for very many kilometres, the lead of the leading duo seems insufficient to hope to create a huge surprise, but with still 20″ of margin 10 terminals from the goal, why not?

At the start of the last lap of the circuit, 5.5 kilometers from the finish, the gap fell to 10 seconds, the peloton starting to seriously accelerate. Plapp and Johansen are finally resumed just after the red flame and the sprinters can enter the fray. This is the team UAE Team Emirates who takes charge in the last mile, Juan Sebastian Molano to put into orbit Pascal Ackerman. But Molano presses so hard on the pedals that neither the German nor the other sprinters overtake him, the Colombian therefore winning the final stage of La Vuelta 2022 despite a change of line in the sprint which could have earned him a disqualification. Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) finished second and Ackerman third. Remco Evenepoel is the big winner of this Tour of Spain.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.