Pedersen affirms his status, Roglic tried everything against Evenepoel before falling

Mathieu WARNIER, Media365, published on Tuesday, September 06, 2022 at 5:52 p.m.

After seeing a duo open the road for a long time, the 16th stage ended with fireworks with an attack then a fall for Primoz Roglic, a puncture for Remco Evenepoel and a success in a small committee sprint for Mads Pedersen .

Mads Pedersen is more than ever the Vuelta’s green jersey. After dominating the 13th stage of the Vuelta, the former world champion took advantage of an absolutely daunting final in the streets of Tomares to win the 16th round of the Tour of Spain. Contested over a 189.4 kilometer long course in a mostly flat part starting from Sanlucar de Barrameda, this stage saw the peloton take all its time. Indeed, less than 2000 meters after the start, Ander Okamika and Luis Angel Maté embarked on what could be presented as a “publicity break” in order to show the jersey of their Burgos-BH and Euskaltel-Euskadi teams before the sprinter teams only catch up with them in the final. While the first hour of the race was covered at an average speed of 38.7 km/h, the Trek-Segafredo team left the leading duo almost four minutes, who did not force the pedals to build this gap. The Cofidis team teamed up with that of the wearer of the green jersey and the gap gradually fell to less than three minutes at 90 kilometers from the goal.

The breakaway had no hope

After a brief but clear acceleration of the peloton, the breakaway maintained its lead for a long time around two minutes but the hope of going to the end never really existed. For the form, Luis Angel Maté played the game in the intermediate sprint located 26 kilometers from the goal when Mads Pedersen consolidated his jersey as leader of the points classification by dominating the sprint of the peloton. Ander Okamika and Luis Angel Maté saw their escape end just under fourteen kilometers from the finish, a breakaway exceeding 175 kilometers. Ibai Azurmendi then took advantage of a slight rising false flat to get out of the peloton, but the rider from the Euskaltel-Euskadi team was quickly caught by the peloton. Already a stage winner on this Vuelta, Kaden Groves saw his dream of doing it again vanish with a puncture eight kilometers from the line. The peloton began to build tension with the Alpecin-Deceuninck, Ineos Grenadiers and Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl teams taking the lead. However, at the start of the last 5000 meters, it was the Jumbo-Visma who made the effort to bring Primoz Roglic back up just like the UAE Team Emirates did for Pascal Ackermann.

Offensive then clumsy Roglic, untouchable Pedersen

Taking advantage of a ramp 2.7 kilometers from the line, the Slovenian surprised everyone and placed a start to which only the German sprinter was able to respond at first. Pure coincidence, Remco Evenepoel was the victim of a puncture at the same time but, being then in the last three kilometers, the Belgian made the choice to take advantage of the regulations and not get upset when changing his wheel. Secondly, Mads Pedersen joined three other riders including Danny van Poppel. A five-man sprint was then launched in the final stretch, however, Primoz Roglic suffered a fall after visibly touching the rear wheel of Fred Wright. While Mads Pedersen was the strongest in front of Pascal Ackermann and Danny van Poppel, the runner-up to Remco Evenepoel in the general classification passed the line groggy and his right knee bleeding. The Belgian, for his part, crossed the line in 97th position, 3’10” from the winner, but the jury of commissioners met very quickly and replaced the wearer of the red jersey in the peloton’s time, which therefore yielded eight seconds to his nearest rival.

16th stage – Sanluca de Barrameda-Tomares (189.4km) – Tuesday September 6, 2022
1- Mads Pedersen (DAN/Trek-Segafredo) in 4h45’29”
2- Pascal Ackermann (GER/UAE Team Emirates) mt
3- Danny van Poppel (PBS/Bora-Hansgrohe) mt
4- Fred Wright (GBR/Bahrain Victorious) mt
5- Quentin Pacher (FRA / Groupama-FDJ) at 8”
6- Samuele Battstella (ITA/Astana Qazaqstan) at 8”
7- Cédric Beullens (BEL/Lotto-Soudal) at 8”
8- Clément Russo (FRA / Arkéa-Samsic) at 8 ”
9- Jesus Ezquerra (ESP/Burgos-BH) at 8”
10- Julius van den Berg (PBS/EF Education-Easypost) at 8”

General classification after 16 stages (out of 21)
1- Remco Evenepoel (BEL/Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) in 61h26’26”
2- Primoz Roglic (SLO / Jumbo-Visma) at 1’26”
3- Enric Mas (ESP/Movistar) at 2’01”
4- Juan Ayuso (ESP/UAE Team Emirates) at 4’49”
5- Carlos Rodriguez (ESP / Ineos Grenadiers) at 5’16”
6- Miguel Angel Lopez (COL/Astana Qazaqstan) at 5’24”
7- João Almeida (POR/UAE Team Emirates) at 7’00”
8- Thymen Arensman (PBS/DSM) at 7’05”
9- Ben O’Connor (AUS / AG2R-Citroën) at 8’57”
10- Jai Hindley (AUS/Bora-Hansgrohe) at 11’36”

27- Thibaut Pinot (FRA / Groupama-FDJ) at 44’33”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.